march, 2017

6mar - 30aprmar 611:00 amapr 30Tren Coperta

Event Details

In the Italian spirit of traveling by train to seek culinary adventures, Coperta’s chef Paul C. Reilly and Aileen V. Reilly are thrilled to announce Tren Coperta, an ongoing series celebrating the food & wine of Southern Italy. A riff on the Italian rail system’sTrenitalia, Tren Coperta offers guests the opportunity to taste their way through eight regions in Southern Italy without leaving the comfort of Uptown.

Beginning on March 6, Coperta will offer a special pasta and cocktail, wine or dessert inspired by a different region of Italy, every Monday through Sunday. For example, Coperta will start the series by exploring Lazio from Monday, March 6 – Sunday, March 12, followed by a week of Campania, beginning on Monday, March 13 – Sunday, March 19, followed by Calabria, and so on.  Full schedule is below.

The restaurant will provide a “train pass” to participating guests and each time a diner orders one of the featured regional items, they will get that region stamped on their pass (the same way that the Italian Kilometric Pass is stamped with each traveler’s destination). The region will change each week, and the more regions that each guest is able to “visit,” the larger their “premio” or prize will be in return!

Guests who visit four regions will receive a Free Dolci and Amaro Pairing; six regions earns a $25 gift card; and guests who visit all eight Italian regions will receive any wine bottle of their choice under $45

After a fall 2016 trip to Italy, Paul and Aileen were inspired to share their travel experiences with guests. Tren Coperta offers a way to bring guests along the culinary journey through each unique region that has inspired their love for rustic Italian cuisine by presenting menu items that represent each region.  The initial Tren Coperta schedule is below:

Lazio

Monday, March 6 – Sunday, March 12

Campania 

Monday, March 13 – Sunday, March 19

Calabria 

Monday, March 20 – Sunday, March 26

Basilicata

Monday, March 27 – Sunday, April 2

Puglia 

Monday, April 3 – Sunday, April 9

Abruzzo e Molise 

Monday, April 10 – Sunday, April 16

Sardinia 

Monday, April 17 – Sunday, April 23

Sicily 

Monday, April 24 – Sunday, April 30

The exploration will begin again at Lazio on Monday, May 1 and guests are encouraged to continue their journey through Italy as Paul and team will continue to offer new menu items.
 Guests are welcome to keep their train pass at Coperta and can ask for it upon arrival and leave the pass with their server after they have been stamped at the end of their meal.

Time

March 6 (Monday) 11:00 am - April 30 (Sunday) 10:00 pm